Eva L. Feldman, M.D., Ph.D.,

Throughout her career, Dr. Eva Feldman, the Russell N. DeJong Professor of Neurology at the University of Michigan, has made it her mission to use scientific discoveries to understand and cure human diseases. In January 2008, Dr. Feldman was named the first Director of the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute, which was created to support the translational research of physicians-scientists at the University of Michigan on a variety of diseases, particularly neurodegenerative diseases, diabetes and other metabolic disorders, cardiovascular disease and adult and childhood cancer (www.taubmaninstitute.org). Under her leadership, the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute has garnered national recognition by being one of the few facilities in the United States to produce disease specific embryonic stem cell lines.

In addition, Dr. Feldman directs a laboratory of 35 scientists who collaborate on the discovery of new treatments for a wide range of neurological diseases, with an emphasis on regenerative medicine and the use of stem cells as a novel therapy in neurological disorders. She is the Principle Investigator on the first FDA approved trial of intraspinal stem cell transplantation in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, and currently serves this same role in the Phase 2 trial.

She is the author of more than 300 articles, 61 book chapters and three books. She is the Principal Investigator of five major National Institutes of Health research grants, two private foundation grants and five clinical trials focused on understanding and treating neurological disorders, with an emphasis on diabetic neuropathy. She is the immediate President of the American Neurological Association and a Past President of the Peripheral Nerve Society. She has trained over 35 postdoctoral fellows and 50 clinical trainees with an emphasis on understanding the pathogenesis of neurodegenerative disorders and employing regenerative medicine to fast track new therapies.

Dr. Feldman has received many honors including the Early Distinguished Career Award and the Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award from the University of Michigan, along with several scientific achievement awards in the field of biomedical research. In 2010 she was elected to the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars, and she has been listed in Best Doctors in America for 12consecutive years.